A Court of Wings and Ruin – Review 


Feyre has returned to the Spring Court, determined to gather information on Tamlin’s maneuverings and the invading king threatening to bring Prythian to its knees. But to do so she must play a deadly game of deceit—and one slip may spell doom not only for Feyre, but for her world as well. As war bears down upon them all, Feyre must decide who to trust amongst the dazzling and lethal High Lords—and hunt for allies in unexpected places

Review 

⭐️⭐️⭐️

This was maybe the most anticipated book of the year for me. I won’t say it disappointed me, but somehow it didn’t feel like a complete book. And it’s not even about the cliff-hangers and loose ends; there was something not “bookish” about this book.
It started off just from where the last book left, I was eager for whatever was coming our way. However most of the first part seemed to be filled with how Feyre just wanted to smack Tamlin right across the face and how she couldn’t stand Ianthe. There was literally no talk about how her plan would work. Everything was too conveniently done. I think “convenient” was the theme of the book.
The second part dragged on, with basically nothing of consequence taking place. There was no charge, no push and pull relationship between Rhysand and Feyre. There was no banter, I mean relationship banter could still happen right? Instead, they behaved like a hundred year old married couple. Feyre annoyed me a little here, with her “I am the Queen” attitude and they way she would snap and order people (specifically the Mor episode). Rhysand on the other hand was behaving like an extra understanding married man. Hey! It could be the whole Mate thing, but really? Really?
The last hundred pages were where the actuality of the war hit me. Those pages kept me on my toes, but they still didn’t make up for the other six-hundred pages. Also, I can’t help but think, how last year everyone blamed Sarah J Mass for not being diverse enough, and in this book, she goes all out. Too out, if I should say.
No matter the faults and miserable characters, that were on my nerves – Nesta and Feyre, really – there were the characters that just made me fall in love with them. Azreil and Mor and Vivane and Cassian and Lucien, holy hell Lucien. Which reminds me the war and Tamlin were, again, too conveniently dealt with, which as I’ve said is the theme of the book.
The plotting for this book felt sloppy, and it almost made me not pick up the next one. However, I have to hand it over to Sarah J Mass for really constructing her world and characters in sync. Her scene building is very slow and a reader eases into it, but unlike ACOMAF, this world was already established – so you really don’t need to go at it again.
Overall, it was fine – even though this review seems harsh, it is just because after ACOMAF I expected goosebumps, and instead I got a “meh”. I will read the other books though, because I am in love with Azriel and I want him to end up with me.
Wishful thinking, sigh.
 

Leave a Reply

