Ranting Review(5) – Crown Of Midnight.

FAIR WARNING : THIS IS THE SECOND BOOK IN THE THRONE OF GLASS SERIES. NO SPOILERS HAVE BEEN GIVEN.

17167166

From the throne of glass rules a king with a fist of iron and a soul as black as pitch. Assassin Celaena Sardothien won a brutal contest to become his Champion. Yet Celaena is far from loyal to the crown. She hides her secret vigilantly; she knows that the man she serves is bent on evil.

Keeping up the deadly charade becomes increasingly difficult when Celaena realizes she is not the only one seeking justice. As she tries to untangle the mysteries buried deep within the glass castle, her closest relationships suffer. It seems no one is above questioning her allegiances—not the Crown Prince Dorian; not Chaol, the Captain of the Guard; not even her best friend, Nehemia, a foreign princess with a rebel heart.

Then one terrible night, the secrets they have all been keeping lead to an unspeakable tragedy. As Celaena’s world shatters, she will be forced to give up the very thing most precious to her and decide once and for all where her true loyalties lie… and whom she is ultimately willing to fight for.

1.5 stars

I am so so disappointed with this book. It just did not work for me. I had heard that Throne of Glass is fine but the Crown of Midnight  is better; but this did not happen.
I didn’t like the ship in this book. I had to will myself to read it because I’d bought it. I kept reading till the end, hoping it would become better but there were just so many parallels with A Court Of Throne and Roses.

Maybe it’s the fact that I read that book before I read this series but I just couldn’t get over the same trope, the misdirection with the current love affair and the entire lost princess scheme.

I feel like there is a time gap, there have been so many books with similar themes that this just felt like a drag; extension of those books. I wanted to like this so much, but I have major major issues with the characters. And the story line. Half the time she introduces tropes not by showing us but by word of mouth. THAT IS NOT HOW ITS DONE. (Side note: this is why I love The Ember in the Ashes series).

Dorian was so whiny and pissy in this book, that his brother was seeming better. One half of the book had nothing. Nothing was happening – she was just lurking in the cave, finding new things which she was reiterating again and again. There were sad, shocking bits as well. I don’t want to give away much but considering that most people have read it, I just felt like Nehemia’s character space in the book was exhausting. Like her screen time was running out or something, like there wasn’t much to do with her plot line. She wasn’t doing anything much to move the plot so the closure made so much sense.

But it also made me sad because a character like hers could be really impactful. So yeah I am tremendously upset about this book. And am definitely not going on with the series.

-Peace

-Painting Stories.

Leave a Reply

